top of page

About Us

The Coptic Orthodox Church

  The Coptic Church was established in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ by St. Mark the Evangelist in the city of Alexandria around 61 A.D. The church adheres to the Nicene Creed. St. Athanasius (296-373 A.D.), the twentieth Pope of the Coptic Church effectively defended the Doctrine of the Lord Jesus Christ's Divinity at the Council of Nicea in 325 A.D. His affirmation of the doctrine earned him the title; "Father of Orthodoxy" and St. Athanasius "the Apostolic".

The term "Coptic" is derived from the Greek "Aigyptos" meaning "Egyptian". When the Arabs arrived in Egypt in the seventh century, they called the Egyptians "qibt". Thus the Arabic word "qibt" came to mean both "Egyptians" and "Christians".


    The term "Orthodoxy" here refers to the preservation of the "Original Faith" by the Copts who, throughout the ages, defended the Old Creed against the numerous attacks aimed at it.


    The Coptic Orthodox Church believes that the Holy Trinity: God The Father, God The Son, and God The Holy Spirit, are equal to each other in one unity; and that the Lord Jesus Christ is the only Savior of the world. Less changes have taken place in the Coptic Church than in any other church whether in the ritual or doctrine aspects and that the succession of the Coptic Patriarchs, Bishops, priests and Deacons has been continuous.

Our Beloved Pope:
H.H. Pope Tawadros II

118th Patriarch of Alexandria

The Diocese

   The diocese was established by His Holiness Pope Shenouda III, the 117th pope of the see of St. Mark the Evangelist. His Holiness' era is marked by a remarkable growth in the number of Coptic churches abroad. To address the needs of these churches, His Holiness felt the urgency to establish dioceses abroad. Thus the first Coptic Orthodox Diocese to be established in the United States is the Diocese of the Southern United States in 1993. H.H. Pope Shenouda III appointed His Grace Bishop Youssef to oversee this Diocese.


   The Coptic Orthodox Diocese of the Southern United States is composed of the following states:

  • Alabama

  • Arizona

  • Arkansas

  • Florida

  • Georgia

  • Louisiana

  • Mississippi

  • New Mexico

  • Oklahoma

  • Tennessee

  • Texas


There are currently 78 priests serving the 54 churches and 41 Coptic communities located in the Diocese.

H.E. Metropolitan

Bishop of the Southern United States of America

Our Bishop
Coptic Orthodox Church
Our Pope
Our Diocese
bottom of page